Beginning July 1, 2017, the fee for a Colorado driver license will increase by $1; from $26 to $27. Other fees will remain the same. This change was a result of HB16-1415 for the purpose of offsetting the cost of providing Division of Motor Vehicles driver services.
The fee for a driver license under SB-251 (Colorado Road and Community Safety Act) will not change, because the cost for providing this service is already fully recouped.
For additional fee information, please visit www.colorado.gov/dmv/driver-license-and-related-fees. For more information on services provided by the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles, please visit www.colorado.gov/dmv.
The DMV encourages individuals to skip the trip to the DMV by using one of the eighteen online services, including driver license renewal, available at mydmv.colorado.gov.